Skip to main content

MetaMagIC offers a low cost and highly effective way to address current technological concerns regarding the efficiency and sustainability of magnetic devices in Information and Communication Technologies. Driven by an increasing need to achieve the precise control of magnetic fields on progressively smaller length scales – down to the nanoscale - improving the current performance of magnetic devices by the homogeneous concentration of magnetic fields in small and targeted volumes can drastically enhance the device energy efficiency. In this project, we will address the two key challenges of device efficiency and sustainability simultaneously. Our project introduces a novel and ground-breaking approach targeting the conception, design, development, and implementation of magnetic metasurfaces for controlling lowfrequency magnetic fields at the meso/microscale. Combining cutting-edge theory and modelling with state-of-the-art techniques for fabricating and characterizing magnetic thin-film devices, we will address important technological challenges: enhancing the sensitivity of magnetic sensors by incorporating them in specially designed planar metamaterials; reducing the negative effects of demagnetizing fields that limit device performance by using metasurfaces, exploiting the non-linear properties of magnetic materials to introduce novel functionalities into magnetic devices such as self-protection of sensitive equipment to damaging high magnetic fields; exploiting the developed metasurfaces to improve the efficiency of small-scale energy harvesting materials with the goal of generating enough energy to operate low-power electronic devices, combining the field expulsion and concentration properties of metasurfaces to optimize a source and receiver pair for high efficiency wireless energy transfer.

Call Topic: Towards Sustainable ICT (S-ICT), Call 2020
Start date: (36 months)
Funding support: 1 066 802 €

Project partners

  • Spanish National  Research Council - Spain (Coordinator)
  • Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona - Spain
  • Universié de Liège - Belgium
  • University of Bath - United Kingdom
  • Brno University of Technology - Czech Republic